Home > Help >  Help
Facebook Tweet Email Share
Print the content on this page Decrease the font size of content Increase the font size of content

Main Content

 

Help

Help
Understanding security & privacy

Only you and the people you give permission to can access your information in MyHealth Records. Every time a change is made to your record, that information is stored in your record History. You can see your record History at any time.

To see a history of activity in MyHealth Records, go to
1) Tools and Settings
2) Profile
3) History


​To see a history of activity in your MyHealth record:
1) Click Tools and Settings
2) Click Profile
3) Click History

If you feel there's an issue with the security or privacy of your health information, please  call eHealth Support Services at 1-800-315-6028 between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. (MST ) Monday to Friday.​

Your personal health information in MyHealth Records is protected and kept private. MyHealth Records is managed by Alberta Health on behalf of the Government of Alberta. Your personal information is protected by firewalls and other web-based information protection tools called industry-standard encryption.

MyHealth Records uses a secure database to protect and store your personal health information. Only you and the people or apps you give permission to can access or make changes to your information.

MyHealth Records doesn't share your information without your consent, unless your information is needed for legal reasons (such as a subpoena or other court order).

MyHealth Records respects your privacy and will keep your health and personal information private. We follow the Government of Alberta's privacy and security policies and standards-and provincial healthcare laws.

Please review the MyHealth Records User Agreement for more information.

If you have questions about how your information is collected and used, please see the MyHealth Records Privacy Policy or contact the Health Information Act Help Desk at:
780-427-8089 or 310-0000 (toll-free)
hiahelpdesk@gov.ab.ca


 

Your MyAlberta Digital ID has a feature called  "Identity Verification".  Identity verification is a process used to determine that you are who you say you are.  Only Alberta residents can verify their Digital ID.

To access MyHealth Records you must verify your MyAlberta Digital ID.   This is an important security feature to ensure that only you have access to your private health information.

How it Works

1) On your MyAlberta Digital ID account page, click the "Initiate Online Verification" button, and provide the required information from your Alberta Driver's License or Alberta ID Card.

2) You will receive an activation code in the mail.  The address registered to your identification is used.

3) You log in to your MyAlberta Digital ID account and enter the code you received.

​You can delete any information you've entered into your health record. You can also close your MyHealth Records account at any time.

If you want to delete records:
1) choose the record you want to delete
2) click Tools and Settings
3) click Profile
4) click Delete this record

MyHealth Records protects the databases that store your health information, but you're responsible for protecting your information when using a computer or mobile device.

Tips to help keep your information private:

  • Create a strong password and don't share your username and password with anyone. If you write down your password, keep it in a safe place away from your computer.
  • Sign out of MyHealth Records when you're finished using it.
  • Don't leave your computer while you're signed in.
  • If you share a computer, make sure to sign out or others may be able to see your health information.
  • Clear your Internet browser cache and history regularly. This cleans out memory that may have some of your information stored.

If you use the Google Chrome browser it has an option to "Continue running background apps when Google Chrome is not running." For security reasons you should disable this feature.  If you're logged in to MyHealth Records and forget to sign out, someone else may be able to get into your MyHealth Records account if they start using the same computer.

To disable this feature:
1) Click on the Google Chrome menu (3 lines in the upper right of your Chrome browser).
2) Click "Settings".
3) Scroll to the bottom and click "Show Advanced Settings." 
4) Scroll down to the heading "System" and make sure the option "Continue running background apps when Google Chrome is closed" isn't checked.

Always sign out of your MyHealth Records account when you're finished, before closing your browser.

When you register for MyHealth Records, you have to accept a User Agreement. When you click “I Agree” this means that you've read the agreement and agree to the terms and conditions.

When new features are added to MyHealth Records you'll need to read and accept the new User Agreement.

To report an issue please call eHealth Support Services at:
1-800-315-6028
eHealth Support Services can't answer questions about symptoms.
For a medical emergency, call 911 right away.
For 24/7 nurse advice and general health information, call Health Link at 811.