Home > Help >  Help
Facebook Tweet Email Share

Main Content

 

Help

Managing your MyHealth Records Account
Sharing Your Records
  1. Go to the Account menu.
  2. Choose Share.
  3. Click Share health information with someone you trust.
  4. Enter the email address of the person you are sharing your record with (the Recipient).
  5. Enter a passcode. The person you are sharing your record with needs to enter this passcode when they accept your invitation.
  6. Choose a sharing level. The sharing level describes how much access you are giving to the person you are sharing your record with.
  7. Choose the types of information in My Personal Records that you would like to share with the person.
  8. Choose an access expiration date. On this date, the person’s access to your record ends, and they can no longer see your record. You can also choose no expiration date.
  9. Click Send Invitation.
It is possible that the person you are sharing your record with could discuss or show your information with or to another person. It is important to only share access to your record with someone you trust.

What should I know about passcodes?

When you send someone (the Recipient) an invitation to view your record, you need to enter a passcode. Choose a passcode between 6 to 10 characters. You can use numbers and uppercase or lowercase letters. Do not use special characters such as #, %, or punctuation.

The person you are sharing your record with needs to enter a passcode to accept your invitation. To keep your invitation secure, do not email the passcode and do not share the passcode with other people. Share your passcode with the Recipient in another way, such as a phone call. If you forget the passcode, you need to resend your invitation with a new passcode.

What levels of access (Sharing Level) can I choose when sharing my record with someone?

  • View Only: The person you share your record with can see the information you choose to share with them.
  • View and Update: The person you share your record with can read, add, or delete some of the information in your record, depending on what you share with them.
Only choose the level of access you feel comfortable sharing. You can change someone's level of access to your record at any time.

How do I share My Personal Records with more than one person?

You need to send separate invitations to each person that you would like to share your record with.

Only share access to your health information with someone you trust.

How do I accept an invitation to view someone’s record?

Invitations to view someone’s record are sent by an email from MyHealth Records. Follow the instructions in the email invitation to access a record that someone shared with you. Only accept an invitation if you know the person and feel comfortable having access to their health information.

Do not share this invitation with another person.

Do not discuss or show someone's health information with or to other people if you do not have their permission.

I received an invitation to view someone’s record, and the invitation is now expired.

The person who shared their record with you needs to send you a new invitation, with a new passcode, so you can view their record.

I sent an invitation to someone so they can view My Personal Records, and the invitation is now expired.

You need to send a new sharing invitation, with a new passcode, to the person you are sharing your record with.

How do I cancel an invitation I sent to someone to access My Personal Records?

  1. Go to the Account menu.
  2. Choose Share My Record.
  3. The invitation shows up as a card with the message Sharing Invitation sent but not yet accepted.
  4. Click Delete invitation.

I could not find a sharing invitation in my email.

Check your email account’s junk folder. If you cannot find the invitation, contact the person who sent you the invitation to make sure they sent it to the correct email address.

How can I change the access level that someone has to My Personal Records?

  1. Go to the Account menu.
  2. Choose Share My Record.
  3. Click Change Access for the person whose access level you are changing.
  4. Choose a new access level.
  5. Confirm the health information that you want to share.
  6. Choose an access expiration date (the date the person’s access will end), or choose no expiration.
  7. Click Change Access.

Remember, only choose the level of access that you feel comfortable sharing. You can change someone's level of access to your record at any time.


How do I remove someone’s access to My Personal Records?

  1. Go to the Account menu.
  2. Choose Share My Record.
  3. Click Change Access for the person whose access level you are changing.
  4. Click Remove All Access.

How do I remove my access to someone’s record?

The person who has invited you to access their record (the Record Owner) needs to remove your access to their record.

I shared my record with someone. Can they share my record with another person?

No. A person can only share their own record.

It is possible that the person you have shared your record with could discuss or show your information to another person. It is important to only share access to your record with someone you trust.

Can I see what my level of access is on a record that someone shared with me?

No. You can ask the person who shared their record what level of access you have.

How do I connect health monitoring and fitness devices to a record that someone shared with me?

You can only connect health monitoring and fitness devices (such as Fitbit, Garmin) to your own record.

How can I see a list of the records that I can access?

  1. Go to the Account menu.
  2. Choose All Records.

The All Records page shows a list of the records you can view in My Personal Records.

How do I know which person’s record I am viewing if I have access to more than one record?

If you are using a desktop computer: the name of the person whose record you are viewing is highlighted in grey.

If you are using a mobile device with a small screen: the name of the person whose record you are viewing appears at the top of the screen.

When you log in to My Personal Records, you will start on the record of the person you were viewing when you logged out of your last My Personal Records session. Always make sure you are viewing the correct record before you add or change information.

Can I see a history of who has accessed or made changes to a record?

You can only see a history of who has accessed or made changes to your own record.

To see who has accessed or made changes to your record:

  1. Go to Tools and Settings.
  2. Choose Profile.
  3. Click History.

How can I see who I have shared my record with or who I have invited to access my record?

  1. Go to the Account menu.
  2. Choose Share My Record.
  3. You will land on the Share Health Information page. You will see this information under These people can see this record. You will also see the level of access that you gave each person.

To report an issue please call eHealth Support Services at:
1-800-315-6028
eHealth Support Services can't answer questions about symptoms.
For a medical emergency, call 911 right away.
For 24/7 nurse advice and general health information, call Health Link at 811.