USING MY PERSONAL RECORDS

Sharing your records

Connect your device, share reports, and adjust permissions.

Managing your sharing access

Only share with people you trust. Once someone can see your record, they could show or describe that information to others — you can't control that. You can change or remove their access anytime.

Sharing your records with others

Your personal health record can be shared with someone you trust. You control the kind of information you share and what the person you share with can do with your information. Some information in your personal health record might be sensitive. Before you share your record: think about what you want the other person to see and what type of information you are comfortable sharing with them.

Parents/guardians can request access to personal health information when their child is younger than 16 years of age. Use the Parent/Guardian Access tool to get started.

How do I share my account with others?

  1. Go to the Account menu.
  2. Choose Share.
  3. Click Share health information with someone you trust.
  4. Enter the email address of the person you are sharing your record with (the Recipient).
  5. Enter a passcode. The person you are sharing your record with needs to enter this passcode when they accept your invitation.
  6. Choose a sharing level. The sharing level describes how much access you are giving to the person you are sharing your record with.
  7. Choose the types of information in My Personal Records that you would like to share with the person.
  8. Choose an access expiration date. On this date, the person’s access to your record ends, and they can no longer see your record. You can also choose no expiration date.
  9. Click Send Invitation.

Sharing with more than one person? Send a separate invitation to each person.
Forgot the passcode you set? Resend the invitation with a new one.

How to set your permissions and settings

How can I change the access level that someone has to My Personal Records?

  1. Go to the Account menu.
  2. Choose Share My Record.
  3. Click Change Access for the person whose access level you are changing.
  4. Choose a new access level.
  5. Confirm the health information that you want to share.
  6. Choose an access expiration date.
  7. Click Change Access.

You can remove view/edit access to records that others have shared with you by:

  1. Opening your account menu.
  2. Selecting the name of the record you want to remove.

Sharing with more than one person? Send a separate invitation to each person.
Forgot the passcode you set? Resend the invitation with a new one.

Invitations to view your personal records

How do I accept an invitation to view someone’s record?

  • Invitations to view someone’s record are sent by an email from My Personal Records. Follow the instructions in the email invitation to access a record that someone shared with you. Only accept an invitation if you know the person and feel comfortable having access to their health information.

I received an invitation to view someone’s record, and the invitation is now expired.

  • The person who shared their record with you needs to send you a new invitation, with a new passcode, so you can view their record.

I sent an invitation to someone so they can view My Personal Records, and the invitation is now expired.

  • You need to send a new sharing invitation, with a new passcode, to the person you are sharing your record with.

Viewing records

How can I see a list of the records that I can access?

  • The account menu will show the names of all accounts you have access to.